Friday, 11 April 2014

Invitation to Parents for Teleconference with Education Minister Jeff Johnson

Teachers, school leaders, students, parents, community leaders – we’re all involved in the success of Alberta’s youth.  Inspiring Education began as a collaboration among Albertans, and we want to keep it that way.  Parents are true partners in achieving the vision of Inspiring Education, and we need to work together to ensure all students succeed.

 It is in this spirit of collaboration that I invite your school councils and parents to join me, together with Brad Vonkeman, President of the Alberta School Councils’ Association, and Claudine Lajoie, President of the Fédération des parents francophones de l’Alberta, to learn more about our progress on Inspiring Education and initiatives like Curriculum Redesign.

Our special guest will be Dr. Glenn Feltham, President and CEO of the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology and Chair of the Task Force for Teaching Excellence.

As a participant, you can also share what you consider to be priorities for our ongoing work to ensure that Alberta kids continue to have access to leading-edge learning opportunities.


Monday, April 14
8 p.m. to 9 p.m.


To take part in the call, you will need to register before 4 p.m. on Friday, April 11.  To register, please visit

Due to the number of phone lines available, I encourage your school councils to call in as a group and invite parents from your school community to join you.  Please have one person register on behalf of the group.

Once your school councils have registered, they will receive a confirmation email with additional information, including a call-in number and participant pass code.

If you or your school councils have any questions about the teleconference, please contact:

Christine Bouchard, Education Manager

Learning Supports and Information Management, Alberta Education

780-422-6503 (To be connected toll-free from anywhere in Alberta, dial 310-0000.)

I look forward to this discussion and working together to prepare our students for the future!


Jeff Johnson

Minister of Education

MLA, Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater

No comments:

Post a Comment